ROUGHLTD010 | Various Artists – Rough Cutz #Four


A1. Dub Striker – Blurred Vision
A2. Kevin Over – Ends With A Kiss
B1. dotSTRIPE feat. Shamiro – Guess What
B2. Annéke Laurent – Moon Diver
C1. Ruff Stuff – Metro Alchemy
C2. Tobi Danton – Basement Stories
D1. Tilman – Pieces
D2. Frag Maddin – Monicon

Germany’s Rough Recordings delivers a double 12 zoll compilation this June/July, entitled Rough Cutz #Four and featuring music from Ruff Stuff, Kevin Over, Tilman, label-head Tobi Danton and more. Rough Recordings and it’s Rough Limited sub-label was launched by Tobias Hölzel aka Tobi Danton and Daniel Napolitano in 2014 out of Stuttgart, Germany and over the years has release its contemporary twist on classic house sounds from the likes of Ruff Stuff, Black Loops, Diego Krause, Kevin Over and more.

Here the label welcomes several of the aforementioned back for the fourth instalment of its Rough Cutz series. Across the package Tobi Danton, Frag Maddin and Tilman deliver raw deep house cuts employing the classic tropes of swinging rhythm’s, airy chord sequences and hazy vocals. Ruff Stuff’s ‘Metro Alchemy’ lays down a more synth-led feel via choppy bass and fluttering arpeggios while Dub Striker’s ‘Blurred Vision’ opens the release on a cinematic tip. Further contributions come from Annéke Laurent, who embraces a more stripped-back textureal aesthetic as well as music from Kevin Over and dotSTRIPE who lean further towards a more bumpy House feel.

Our ROUGHLTD010 is available in every vinyl store as well as in the Rough Recordings Shop.

Date & Time

June 25, 2020